Shooting Scene Two

Today I filmed the second scene of my short film. Unfortunately, I am unsatisfied with the footage I managed to acquire. Due to the time of day I filmed and the weather, my shots were inconsistent and of poor quality. One problem I encountered was the wind, rendering the audio useless. Although scene two does not strictly need audio, only music, I believe if I add audio in addition to the music, it may create more of an atmospheric scene.18742541_1985138958381434_8005986_o

Another problem I faced was the time of day I decided to film at. Scene one was filmed around midday, but scene two was filmed early evening. I thought as both times I shot were sunny, it wouldn’t affect the consistency all that much after colour grading the footage. It turns out that I was wrong and the lighting was very inconsistent between scene one and scene two.

Luckily there were some positives to this film shoot. For one, I now have a further idea of realistically how my short film is going to progress and ultimately what it will look like when it is finished. I intend on reshooting scene two on a sunny day during the same time of day as scene one. Hopefully the reshoot will be a lot more consistent and a lot better in general than todays shoot.

I have uploaded a clip of scene one and two edited together. Unfortunately there is an absence of audio in some parts and you will notice the inconsistent lighting and shot transitions.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Evaluation | Euan Scholes

Leave a Reply

