Blog The Week – 29/04/17

The aim of this week was to research filming techniques. I researched the walk by transition, an editing technique that allows you to smoothly transition from one shot to the other, through the use of masking. This allows you to represent the passage of time creatively, instead of using a standard jump cut.

The narrative of my short film is predominantly told through flashbacks, so I thought it would be in my best interest to research the different styles of flashbacks used in film and how they are executed. I watched many examples from different films, such as ‘The Perks of being a Wallflower’ and it really helped me imagine how I would like the narrative to progress throughout the timeframe of my short film.

An issue I encountered this week was struggling to find sources for all the information I wanted to acquire. I overcame this through my discovery of video essays, which I watched to learn how to achieve certain filmmaking techniques and styles.

Leave a Reply

